Nominations for the 2020 MSU Awards are now open

December 16, 2019 at 12:00 pm

Nominations are now open for the 2020 MSU Awards. For those nominating someone anonymously, the nominations close January 27, and for those nominating themselves, the nominations close February 5. This gives folks that were nominated by someone else the time to submit any missing documentation. Students are encouraged to nominate an individual or a group who has made meaningful contributions to McMaster University for an award. 

To access nomination forms and relevant qualifications, click here. All completed nomination packages must upload by noon on either January 27 or February 5, depending on who is nominated. The awards will be presented during the annual Student Recognition Night on Monday, March 9, 2020 which celebrates the dedication on behalf of students and student groups to positively change the undergraduate experience at McMaster.

“Apart from academics, McMaster is home to hundreds of clubs and services that serve both students and the McMaster community – their accomplishments would not be possible without the groups and individuals that contribute to them,” says MSU Speaker, Maryanne Oketch. “Student Recognition Night is a place where we can recognize the contributions to those who help with the successes of McMaster.”

The five awards presented every year are the following:

The Honour M Award is the highest award that the MSU bestows, recognizing outstanding leadership, volunteer service, contribution and/or special achievement in extra-curricular activities. A nominee must have completed at least two years of MSU membership and are usually in their final year of their academic program.

The Rudy Heinzl Award of Excellence is awarded in recognition of an outstanding one-year achievement, which improves the lives of students at McMaster University. A nominee can be any McMaster community member.

The MSU Merit Scholarship Award is presented to recognize outstanding and valuable service to university, student, or residence governments, departments, clubs, societies, charities, or athletics. A nominee must be an MSU member who is not in the final year of an academic program.

The J. Lynn Watson Award for Community Service is presented by the MSU to the campus group that has made the greatest one-year contribution to charitable giving.

The MSU Spirit Award is presented annually to the campus group that has demonstrated outstanding spirit. The Selection Committee will consider those campus groups that best represent enthusiasm, participation, dedication, and increasing school spirit at McMaster University.

All information and application documents can be found here. Once a nominiation form is completed, upload it here.

For more information, please contact:

Maryanne Oketch
MSU Speaker

(905) 525 9140 ext. 24118

Posted in: General | No comments yet
No comments have been posted yet. Be the first!
Icon_online-surveys Ongoing MSU Surveys
Icon-twitter MSU_McMaster Tweets
Follow MSU_McMaster