CFMU Celebrates Multiple Wins at Hamilton Music Awards

May 30, 2016 at 11:55 am

     CFMU 93.3FM, the MSU’s non-profit community radio station, is celebrating its winnings after an impressive sweep at the 2016 Hamilton Music Awards, recently held on May 28. The station, along with affiliated hosts won four awards at this year's Gala

     The awards were: Music Director of the Year, Rachel Connell, Radio Show of the Year, Lou's Control with Lou Molinaro, Media Person of the Year, Ric Taylor and finally,  Radio Station of the Year.  CFMU has now won Station of the Year for the tenth time since the inception of the Hamilton Music Awards in 2004.

     Jamie Tennant, CFMU’s program director, attributed some of the station’s success to music director Rachel Connell. “[Connell] went from enthusiastic CFMU volunteer to staff. She also went from enthusiastic HMA volunteer to HMA winner, which is pretty amazing, " said Tennant, describing his excitement about Connell's award for Music Director of the Year. Tennant added, “Winning the award for Station of the Year is a great recognition of the work our volunteers do.”

     Connell explained, “The level of engagement with local musicians and our community outreach is what helps us accomplish what local for-profit stations do not.” CFMU 93.3FM is a non-profit campus/community radio station, owned by the McMaster Students Union. Its mandate is to promote local, independent music, to showcase local diversity, and to provide a voice for the community.

     Listen to CFMU online, check out their blog, and follow CFMU on Twitter to keep up with the wide range of CFMU programs and local independent music.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Gonzalez
CFMU Community Outreach Coordinator

905-525-9140 ext. 20322


Posted in: McMaster University, MSU Departments & Services, General | No comments yet
No comments have been posted yet. Be the first!
Icon_online-surveys Ongoing MSU Surveys
Icon-twitter MSU_McMaster Tweets
Follow MSU_McMaster