Chukky Ibe is President-elect of the McMaster Students Union

January 27, 2017 at 03:30 am

The votes are in and the results have been ratified by the Elections Committee. Chukky Ibe won the 2017 MSU Presidential election and is President-elect of the McMaster Students Union. The President takes office on May 1, 2017 but will begin the transition process in the coming weeks.

Voter turnout for the 2017 MSU Presidential election was 41.6% with 9327 students voting this year. This rate continues the impressive upward trend in McMaster student voter turnout, and marks five consecutive years with more than 40% of students voting in the MSU Presidential election.

The Elections Committee, charged with overseeing all elections of and within the MSU, has completed the campaign evaluation process by assessing fines and addressing complaints levied against candidates. Results are considered unofficial at this time, as all candidates have five business days to appeal their fines and contest the results. Appeals would be heard first be the Elections Committee, and a subsequent appeal would be heard by the Electoral Appeal Board. Decisions of the Electoral Appeal Board are final.

Round by round breakdown of results:


In addition to the Presidential election, there were three referenda on the ballot. The referenda results are as follows:

HSR bus passes with 12 month pass + expanded service passes
(This is the current level of service in use by McMaster students)


Athletics & Recreation Student Activity Building / Pulse Expansion fails


Course syllabus repository advocacy passes


For more information, please contact:

Helen Zeng
Chief Returning Officer


Posted in: President, McMaster University, MSU Departments & Services, Board of Directors, General | No comments yet
No comments have been posted yet. Be the first!