Congratulations to the 2016/2017 MSU Teaching Award Winners

March 21, 2017 at 13:00 pm

The MSU Teaching Awards recognize and encourage excellence in teaching at McMaster University, by acknowledging the contributions and hard work of professors and teaching assistants.  In a ceremony on March 20 in Council Chambers, some of the finest educators at McMaster were honoured by their students.

The MSU would like to congratulate the recipients of the 2016/2017 MSU Teaching Awards:

Arts and Science Program - Hartley Jafine 
DeGroote School of Business - Frances Tuer
Department of Kinesiology - Steven Bray 
Faculty of Engineering - Lydell Wiebe
Faculty of Health Sciences - Michael Wong
Faculty of Humanities - Sarah Olutola
School of Nursing - Kirsten Culver
Faculty of Science - Alex Adronov
Faculty of Social Sciences - Sigal Balshine 

In addition to the faculty awards, several other awards were bestowed:

Lifetime Achievement Award  - Philip Wood

Merit Award - Janet Pritchard 

Community Engagement Teaching Award - Ayesha Khan 

OUSA Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance Award - Nikolai Penner

The MSU Teaching Awards also recognizes outstanding Teaching Assistants. Teaching Assistant Merit Awards were presented to:

Joelle Gueco
Danial Qureshi
Zahra Khalesi
Taylor Steele

The Teaching Awards Committee consists of volunteers and elected MSU and SRA members, who assist in the nomination process and planning of the ceremony. Nomination periods took place in both first and second semesters, and yielded thousands of nominations by undergraduate students. The committee compiled the nominations to discover trends from each faculty, then conducted interviews and class visits in the later stages of the Teaching Awards process.

For more information, please contact:

Kornelia Palczewski
Coordinator, MSU Teaching Awards Committee

Posted in: MSU Departments & Services, General | No comments yet
No comments have been posted yet. Be the first!