Nominations for the 2018 MSU Awards are open until February 2 at noon

January 9, 2018 at 12:00 pm

Nominations are now open for the 2018 MSU Awards until Friday, February 2, 2018. Students are encouraged to nominate any individual or groups who have made meaningful contributions to McMaster University for an award. To access nomination forms and relevant qualifications, click here. All completed nomination packages must be sent as a PDF to by noon on February 2. The awards will be presented during the annual Student Recognition Night on March 14, which celebrates the dedication on behalf of students and student groups to positively change the undergraduate experience at McMaster.

"Every year countless groups and individuals work to make McMaster a better institution and community,” said MSU Speaker Helen Zeng. “It would be impossible to give them all the recognition they deserve, however Student Recognition Night is one step in the right direction to celebrate and acknowledge those behind the successes of our organization.”

The five awards presented every year are the following:

The Honour M Award is the highest award that the MSU bestows, recognizes outstanding leadership, volunteer service, contribution and/or special achievement in extra-curricular activities. 

*Nominees must have completed at least two years of MSU membership, and are normally in their final year of their academic program.

The Rudy Heinzl Award of Excellence is awarded in recognition of an outstanding one-year achievement, which improves the lives of students at McMaster University.

*Nominees can be any McMaster community member.

The MSU Merit Scholarship Award is presented to recognize outstanding and valuable service to university, student, or residence governments, departments, clubs, societies, charities, or athletics.

*Nominees must be an MSU member who is not in the final year of their academic program. 

The J. Lynn Watson Award for Community Service is presented by the McMaster Students Union to the campus group that has made the greatest one-year contribution to charitable giving.

The MSU Spirit Award is presented annually to the campus group that has demonstrated superior spirit. The Selection Committee will consider those campus groups that best represent enthusiasm, participation, dedication, and increasing school spirit at McMaster University.

For more information, please contact:

Helen Zeng
MSU Speaker

905-525-9140 ext. 24118

Posted in: General | No comments yet
No comments have been posted yet. Be the first!