Update regarding the 2018 MSU presidential appeal process

February 16, 2018 at 16:34 pm

The appeal process regarding the 2018 MSU Presidential election continues. Ikram Farah, disqualified from the contest on February 5, had her first opportunity to appeal on February 16.  At that meeting, the Elections Committee upheld its decision to disqualify Ms. Farah.  

Since Ms. Farah’s disqualification was upheld upon her first appeal, she now has five days to declare her intent to further progress her appeal to the Electoral Appeal Board. Decisions of the Electoral Appeal Board will be final.

Muhammed Aydin remains president-elect of the MSU. However, election results continue to be unofficial until the completion of the appeals process.

Rabeena Obaidullah was disqualified on election night.  She has already made her first appeal, at which the Elections Committee upheld its decision to disqualify. She has already declared her intent to make her final appeal to the Electoral Appeal Board.

The Electoral Appeal Board will be convened and will hear all relevant cases as necessary in late February or early March. The minutes of all appeals meetings will be made publicly available once completed and subsequently ratified by the Elections Committee.

For more information, please contact

Chloe Deraiche
Chief Returning Officer

905-525-9140 ext. 24118

Posted in: MSU Departments & Services, General | No comments yet
No comments have been posted yet. Be the first!
Icon_online-surveys Ongoing MSU Surveys
Icon-twitter MSU_McMaster Tweets
Follow MSU_McMaster