Nominations for the 2019 MSU Awards are open until February 24

February 11, 2019 at 09:00 am

Nominations are now open for the MSU Awards until Sunday, February 24, 2019. Students are encouraged to nominate an individual or a group who has made meaningful contributions to McMaster University for an award. To access nomination forms and relevant qualifications, click here. All completed nomination packages must be sent as a PDF to by noon on February 24. The awards will be presented during the annual Student Recognition Night on Thursday, March 14, 2019 which celebrates the dedication on behalf of students and student groups to positively change the undergraduate experience at McMaster.

“The foundation of McMaster is built on the work that groups and individuals put into making it a better institution and community,” says MSU Speaker Elizabeth Wong. “Though the recognition they deserve goes beyond awards, Student Recognition Night allows us to recognize the significant contributions of those who are the successes of our organization.”

The five awards presented every year are the following:

The Honour M Award is the highest award that the MSU bestows, recognizes outstanding leadership, volunteer service, contribution and/or special achievement in extra-curricular activities. A nominee must have completed at least two years of MSU embership, and are normally in their final year of their academic program.

The Rudy Heinzl Award of Excellence is awarded in recognition of an outstanding one-year achievement, which improves the lives of students at McMaster University. A nominee can be any McMaster community member.

The MSU Merit Scholarship Award is presented to recognize outstanding and valuable service to university, student, or residence governments, departments, clubs, societies, charities, or athletics. A nominee must be an MSU member who is not in the final year of an academic program.

The J. Lynn Watson Award for Community Service is presented by the McMaster Students Union and the Inter-Residence Council to the campus group that has made the greatest one-year contribution to charitable giving.

The MSU Spirit Award is presented annually to the campus group that has demonstrated superior spirit. The Selection Committee will consider those campus groups that best represent enthusiasm, participation, dedication, and increasing school spirit at McMaster University.

For more information, please contact:

Elizabeth Wong
MSU Speaker

905-525-9140 ext. 24118

Posted in: McMaster University, MSU Departments & Services, General | No comments yet
No comments have been posted yet. Be the first!