Celebrate teaching excellence at the 2019 MSU Teaching Awards Ceremony

March 5, 2019 at 09:00 am

The MSU Teaching Award Ceremony will take place on Friday, March 15 from 6 PM - 8 PM in CIBC Hall. All students are invited to attend and support their favourite nominated profs and TAs. There will be complimentary free food for all attendees. The ceremony will begin with introductory remarks by Provost and Vice President of McMaster, Dr. David Farrar. It will be a celebratory night in recognition of teaching excellence at McMaster. All guests are encouraged to dress in semi-formal or business casual attire.

Listed below are the nominees for Student-Nominated Awards:

Arts & Science

  • James Sikkema
  • Megumi Harada
  • David Penner
  • Elizabeth Marquis

Degroote School of Business

  • Anwar Husain
  • Teal McAteer
  • Frances Tuer
  • Behrouz Bakhtiari

Department of Kinesiology

  • Randolph Calvert
  • Krista Howarth
  • Jennifer Heisz

Faculty of Engineering

  • Mostafa Soliman
  • Ka Ming (Timber) Yuen
  • Silvie Tanu Halim
  • Moein Mehrtash

Faculty of Humanities

  • Ekaterina Neklyudova
  • Tracy Wong
  • Barry Allen

Faculty of Health Sciences

  • Michael Surette
  • Rebecca Markey
  • Jennifer Nash
  • Margaret Secord-Gilbert

School of Nursing

  • Jillian Halladay

Faculty of Science

  • Regy Mathew
  • George Dragomir
  • Felicia Vulcu
  • John Maclachlan

Faculty of Social Science

  • Catherine Frost
  • Jessica Braimoh
  • David Goutor
  • Lina Samuel

TA Merit Awards:

  • Abdullah Haroon
  • Allen Li
  • Brent Urbanski
  • Michelle Ogrodnik

In addition, every year the Teaching Awards Committee bestows awards in several application based categories.  The 2019 winners include:

Community Engagement Award: Dawn Bowdish

Merit Award: Katie Moisse

Lifetime Achievement Award: Judy Major-Girardin

OUSA Award: Nikol Piskuric

Innovation Award: Ryan Belowitz and the LIFSCI 2L03 Team

TA of the Year Award: Brent Urbanski

Sessional Merit Award: Nadine Ijaz

For more information, please contact:

Angel Huang
MSU Macademics Coordinator

905-525-9140 ext. 27202

Posted in: Board of Directors, General | No comments yet
No comments have been posted yet. Be the first!
Icon_online-surveys Ongoing MSU Surveys
Icon-twitter MSU_McMaster Tweets
Follow MSU_McMaster