Exceptional student leaders celebrated during Student Recognition Night

March 14, 2019 at 21:30 pm

The McMaster Students Union and McMaster University came together to celebrate and honour student leadership at the 39th annual Student Recognition Night on March 14 at LIUNA Station. The 2019 MSU Awards were presented to several students, student groups, and other leaders on campus in recognition of their passion and dedication towards improve the experiences of McMaster undergraduates.

Awards were presented in seven different categories, recognizing a variety of achievements over the previous year, or throughout the winners’ careers at McMaster University. For more information concerning each individual reward criteria, click here.

Congratulations to all of the recipients on their outstanding achievements:

The J. Lynn Watson Award for Community Service is presented to the campus group that has made the greatest one-year contribution to charitable giving. This year’s recipient is UNICEF McMaster, a group that provides opportunities to learn about global development issues related to children across the globe, demonstrating what it means to make a positive change within our communities.

The MSU Spirit award is presented to the campus group with superior spirit, who represents enthusiasm, dedication, and is devoted to increasing school spirit at McMaster. This year’s recipient is McMaster Artificial Intelligence Society, a group providing students with opportunities to learn about and apply artificial intelligence.

Two members of the Student Representative Assembly were recognized as SRA Member of the Year for their dedication in and outside of meetings, through the multiple committees they sit on and outreach efforts to their constituents. These two individuals are Marina Gandzi and Selene Dominguez Florean.

This year, there were three awards handed out for Part Time Manager of the Year to recognize dedicated and hardworking individuals with unmatched passions for improving the student experience. Uwais Patel, Chief Returning Officer, worked tirelessly to improve Elections outreach strategies and increase student engagement. The Food Collective Centre Coordinator, Hannah Philip, went above and beyond to increase service usage while also collaborating with the education team to enhance advocacy regarding food security on campus. Miranda Clayton, Pride Community Centre Coordinator, not only rebranded the service, but built a new community of support for LGBTQ+ students on campus.

The MSU Merit Scholarship Award recognizes outstanding and valuable services to university, student, or residence governments, departments, clubs, societies, charities, or athletics. This year’s recipient is Emily Crosby.

The Rudy Heinzl Award of Excellence is presented to those that have demonstrated dedication to the well-being of the McMaster’s student community. This year’s recipient is Selene Dominguez Florean.

The Honour M Award is the highest award bestowed by the MSU, presented in recognition of outstanding leadership, volunteer service, contribution, and/or special achievement in extra-curricular activities. The winners of this award are Andrew Leber, Connor MacLean, and Sinthu Senthillmohan.

Posted in: McMaster University, General | No comments yet
No comments have been posted yet. Be the first!
Icon_online-surveys Ongoing MSU Surveys
Icon-twitter MSU_McMaster Tweets
Follow MSU_McMaster